History of the Dr. Thomas A. Dooley Assembly

He looked like the ninety-seven pound weakling. He was always around, hitting the books and content to be a student at Notre Dame and surrounded by good company. He was in pre-med, a young kid, but so serious, so thoughtful. His name was Tom Dooley. He died of cancer the day after his 34th birthday. By that Dr. Tom Dooley was internationally famous as the medical missionary in Southeast Asia.

This was the inspiration, this was the challenge, this was the man for whom the new Assembly was named, Dr. Thomas A. Dooley Assembly Fourth Degree Knights of Columbus.

Dr. Thomas A. Dooley Assembly was formed June 24th, 1962 from a group of councils that included Father McDonald of Elmhurst, Mayslake of Hinsdale, St. John of Downers Grove/Westmont, Father Gaffney of West Chicago, and Wheaton. Ron T. Tallon was Master of the Northern Illinois District at the time. He called together Fourth Degree members from the above councils for the purpose of electing officers for the new assembly. Charter Officers were installed by Master Tallon on Monday, July 9, 1962 with Sir Knight Leon Heidgen of Elmhurst being selected as the Charter Faithful Navigator.

Dr. Dooley Assembly has grown from 6 councils in 1962 to 23 councils in 2012 with a total membership of 864 Sir Knights. Over the years Dr. Dooley Assembly has had a program of moral and financial support for seminarians. Currently, we are providing support for a seminarian with a modest stipend, which can be used to pay part of his personal expenses. Dr. Dooley Assembly also has supported the Joliet Diocese Chapter as a leading contributor each to the Chapter's seminarian purse program for the Joliet Diocese.
Past Faithful Navigators of the Dr. Thomas A. Dooley Assembly
1962-1964 Leon Heidgen* 1994-1995 Michael P. Cummins
1964-1966 Edwin P McKeowen* 1995-1996 Anthony M. Vechiola
1966-1968 Charles P Faust* 1996-1997 Stephen M. Kingsbury
1968-1969 Frank Gioia* 1997-1998 Anthony S. Rickert
1969-1970 Edward Hoffman* 1998-1999 Jose L. Salazar
1970-1971 Joseph A. Mulvaney* 1999-2000 Paul J. Gonzales
1971-1972 Paul l. Mictchell* 2000-2001 Dennis Brust*
1972-1973 Steve Sopran* 2001-2002 Thomas F. Cummins*
1973-1974 Paul l. Mictchell* 2002-2003 Jerome A. Kurowski
1974-1975 William Boschelli* 2003-2004 K. Wayne Decker*
1975-1976 James Noble* 2004-2005 Kenneth E. Grant
1976-1977 George Sweedie* 2005-2006 John W. Mc Carthy
1977-1978 Joseph P. Spagnola* 2006-2007 Steven P. Orzech
1978-1979 Samuel A. Rizzo* 2007-2008 Roger R. Dooley
1979-1980 Dennis A. Mclnerney* 2008-2009 Anthony S. Mannina Jr.
1980-1981 Kenneth J. Bane* 2009-2010 Frank W. Rossi*
1981-1982 John T. Roller* 2010-2011 Terrence J. Folliard
1982-1983 Robert F. Callery* 2011-2012 Walter Johnson Jr.
1983-1984 Ronald D. Schelli Sr.* 2012-2013 Lee Walper
1984-1985 Thomas Gaffney* 2013-2014 Mitchell J. Raines
1985-1986 Frank T. Cvach* 2014-2015 Ronald L. Metty
1986-1987 Joseph O'Rielly Jr.* 2015-2016 Ivanauski Leon
1987-1988 Clayton A. Krekelberg* 2016-2017 Robert Nowakowski
1988-1989 Robert F. Mc Hale* 2017-2018 Michael Blackburn
1989-1990 Vern. Weberski* 2018-2019 Bill Schelli
1990-1991 Edwin K. Mitchell* 2019-2020 Patrick Belling
1991-1992 Richard C. Spada 2020-2021 Michael Enos
1992-1993 Bruce F. Wood* 2021-2022 Daniel H. Daemicke
1993-1994 Wayne Mitchell 2022-Present Will Schelli IV
*indicates Deceased

Your Cart

Shopping cart  Shopping cart
0 Product(s) in cart
Total $0.00
» Checkout

Your Account

Login Status  Login Status

Not logged in

» Login